UPDATE: I have an exciting bit of news to report. Andrew Sigal of The Uncarved Block has offered to match the first $500 we raise.

My original goal was $2,500. I am hoping we can now beat that. Let’s see!

With only five days left, until the online bake sale for Japan on March 30th, 2011. The list of bloggers, writers, bakers, and professional chefs has grown to nearly 90! We come from nine countries, on four continents and we have one thing in common, we want to raise a lot of dough for Second Harvest Japan!

www.atasteofkoko.com Green Tea Macaron

photo courtesy of www.atasteofkoko.com

Second Harvest Japan is that country’s first food bank. They are working very hard to feed people in the wake of this month’s 8.9 earthquake and subsequent tsunami and nuclear reactor problems.

With food rations being as small as one banana, one orange, and one cup of water per day per person, those affected by the disaster in Japan can use all the help they can get.

Almond-Sweets---Manu's-Menu

photo courtesy of www.manusmenu.com

Those of us who work with food, who write about food, describing it in loving detail, or surf food blogs and “food porn” sites are living in a different world than those facing tiny rations right now. But, there is nothing like putting your passion and your talent to good use- to get a good result.

Langues De Chat Cookies

photo courtesy of http://thedailypalette.com/

So—you will not believe the amazing things people have come up with for this online bakesale! From meyer lemon flavored edible scrabble tiles, to a blood orange tart originally created by trappist nuns to green tea macarons, to adorable cake pops.  We’ve even got vegan cookies shaped like PINK dinosaurs (guess who made those)! Oh, and if you’re a chocolate fan, there is every manner of torte, tart, brownie, cookie, muffin, cake, and truffle imaginable.

Butternut Squash Cake with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

The tomato tart made this ;)

The health food set need not worry either, granola, cooking classes, books, hand harvested Pacific sea salt, and all manner of gluten free and vegan treats will be available too.

When: 3/30/2011

Where: www.thetomatotart.com

And yes, many items are available for shipping worldwide

52 Sweets http://www.52sweets.com/
A Half Baked Life http://ahalfbakedlife.blogspot.com
A Taste Of Koko http://www.atasteofkoko.com/
All Day Long I Dream About Food http://dreamaboutfood.blogspot.com/
Annie B. Bond http://www.anniebbond.com/
Babe In Soyland http://www.babeinsoyland.com
Boulder Locavore http://boulderlocavore.blogspot.com/
Bread And Love And Chocolate http://www.breadloveandchocolate.com
Brooke’s Biscuits Bars And Brownies
Budget Gourmet Mom http://www.budgetgourmetmom.com/
C&C Cakery http://cccakery.blogspot.com/
Chipped Bowl http://chippedbowl.tumblr.com/
Como Water http://comowater.com/
Cooking Italian In The Midwest http://cookingitalianinthemidwest.blogspot.com
Cooking With Sean And Joey http://www.cookingwithsean.com/
Cookistry http://cookistry.blogspot.com/
Create Amazing Meals http://www.createamazingmeals.com/
Dulis Serenus http://www.dulcisserenus.wordpress.com/
Eat The Love http://www.eatthelove.com
Enotria Guide http://www.enotriaguide.com
Eunice Montes http://www.eunicemontes.com
Food And Scent http://www.foodandscent.com
French Press Memos http://www.frenchpressmemos.blogspot.com
Full Circle Adventure http://www.fullcircleadv.com
Give Me Flour http://www.givemeflour.com/
Gluten Free Baking http://www.GlutenFreeBaking.com
Hezzi D’s Books And Cooks http://www.hezzi-dsbooksandcooks.blogspot.com
Hungry Rabbit http://hungryrabbitnyc.com/
I Am A Feeder http://iamafeeder.net/
Ilke’s Kitchen http://www.ilkeskitchen.com
Jules Bea Gluten Free Make Shop http://julesbea.wordpress.com/
Kitchen Corners http://www.kitchencorners.com/
Kitchen M http://kitchen-em.blogspot.com
Kumiko’s Diary In The USA http://ameblo.jp/corniste/
La Vie En Route http://www.lavieenroute.com
Lemons And Anchovies http://lemonsandanchovies.wordpress.com
Lick My Spoon http://www.lickmyspoon.com
Little Girl Big Appetite http://www.littlegirlbigappetite.com/
Making Whoopie Pies http://makinwhoopie14.blogspot.com/
Manu’s Menu http://www.manusmenu.com/
Marnee’s Cookies http://www.marnees.com/
Melissa Breyer New York Times Writer, Author of the Book True Food
More Than A Mountfull http://www.morethanamountfull.com
Munchkin Munchies http://www.munchkinmunchies.blogspot.com
Nachista’s Nest http://nachista.blogspot.com/
Nomnivorous http://www.nomnivorous.com
Noon Cafe http://nooncafe.com/
Nosh This http://www.noshthis.com
Notes From The Cookie Jar http://www.notesfromthecookiejar.com
Nuts About Food http://nutsaboutfooditaly.blogspot.com
Offally Tasty http://www.offallytasty.wordpress.com/
Pinay Cooking Corner http://www.pinaycookingcorner.com/
Plate Fodder http://platefodder.blogspot.com/
Rice And Wheat http://www.riceandwheat.com
Ringalings http://ringalings.blogspot.com/
Rosemarried http://www.rosemarried.com
Salty Seattle http://www.saltyseattle.com
Sinfully Yours Chocolate http://www.sinfullyyourschocolate.com
Sophistimom http://www.sophistimom.com/
Steph’s Bite By Bite http://www.stephsbitebybite.com
Sugar Daze Cupcakes http://www.sugardazecupcakes.com
Sushi Day http://sushiday.com/
Sweet And Crumby http://www.sweetandcrumby.com/
That Skinny Chick Can Bake!!! http://thatskinnychickcanbake.blogspot.com/
The Adventuresome Kitchen http://www.adventuresomekitchen.wordpress.com/
The Baked Life http://www.thebakedlife.blogspot.com/
The Chocolate Cult http://thechocolatecult.blogspot.com/
The Crue Cart http://thecruecart.com/home.html
The Dailly Palette http://www.thedailypalette.com/
The Dusty Baker http://www.thedustybaker.com/
The Gluten Freed Gourmet http://www.theglutenfreedgourmet.com
The Little Foodie http://www.thelittlefoodie.com
The Spice Garden http://thespicegarden.blogspot.com/
The Tomato Tart http:/www.thetomatotart.com
The Urban Baker http://theurbanbaker.com
The Year In Food http://theyearinfood.com/
This Little Piggy Went To The Farmer’s Market http://www.thislittlepiggywenttothefarmersmarket.com
U Try It http://www.utry.it
Unrivaledkitch http://sleepysachi.livejournal.com
Vegansaurus http://www.vegansaurus.com
When Adobo Met Feijoada http://whenadobometfeijoada.blogspot.com/
Whit’s Amuse Bouche http://www.whitsamusebouche.com/
Wine Book Girl http://winebookgirl.blogspot.com
Yue Handi Crafts http://yuehandicrafts.blogspot.com/
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

{ 5 comments… read them below or add one }

Lauren March 27, 2011 at 1:17 PM

This is so exciting Sabrina!! Great job coordinating this. I can't wait to see how much we can raise! :)

Reply

Susan York March 28, 2011 at 4:56 AM

Sabrina – Would love to help. Contact me at http://www.cupcakesandcrablegs.com. Just heard about this so let me know what I can do.

Reply

local kitchen March 28, 2011 at 3:59 PM

Hi Sabrina,

Thanks so much for organizing this: I thought of something similar but time got away from me. I have lots of preserves and/or sweets that I could donate: you can check out my recipes at localkitchenblog.com . Please email me at localkitchen AT yahoo DOT com if you get a chance: I'd be happy to join in!

Kaela

Reply

Donna at NothingChocolate March 29, 2011 at 10:32 AM

Hi
This is gonna sound dumb, but I have never bid on anything online or anywhere else. Are there special instructions to follow aside from visiting your site on Wednesday? I see some goodies I really want! Thanks!
-Donna

Reply

sabrinamodel March 29, 2011 at 12:10 PM

Hi Donna,
You will need to set up a paypal account. Other than that it should be pretty simple!

Reply

Leave a Comment

{ 3 trackbacks }

Previous post:

Next post: